BEFORE GRADUATION


during the high school senior, so many things happen before i graduate from high school. for example, my mum lost her jobs because the travel company was closed, gas price was raising, people were getting hard to find a job, and etc. Since i was only 18 years old, i was probably not understand how it would be able to affect me in the future. my mum was always complaint about the gas price.

” did you know? when your mum came to United States, the gas price was only 0.99 per gallon for the premium. but as you see now, the gas price went up to 2 dollars something. my paycheck could not support it too much.”

it was fact. as we see the gas price now, it is always 4 dollars at least, and sometimes goes up to 5 dollars. everything in Los Angeles is getting more expensive, and so many people said the economic is going to down side.

somehow, some of my friends were making decision before they graduate. for example, some of friends decided to give up the education, and they were working instead of going to college; some of them were moving to other state, like taxes, las vegas, and even further away; of course, some of them still decided to get the higher education, and finished their degree as priority. i was lost during that time. i did want to go to college, however, my family could not offer it. we needed money to support the single family, and i did not want to make any student loan to pay it back. during this time, one of my friends made a big decision. he joined the US ARMY. when i was asking him why, he just told me that he wanted more experiences and education benefits. he was almost the same situation as me. eventually, he went to bootcamp, training, and went home during the new year. i saw him again and i was not still believe that. i was laughing at him, i would never join the arm forces in my life. he was quiet and did not reply to me. he was changed, was getting more mature than i was. personally did not like the military life, however, i was still falling in love for the military uniform. in china, everyone was talking about the United States arm forces. we knew the US had the strongest military force, and the most technology weapons in the world. i really loved the military uniform since i was a kid. i was always watching the hollywood movie about the military, and of course, sometimes i would be imagined i put on these uniform on one day.

one day, i went to a trip with my church. my mum was calling me urgent and i did not know why.

“today had two recruiters were looking for you, they were navy. ”

i felt was annoying, and i told my mum i would never think about military. my mum was told me that came back home and discuss with her. i did not understand why my mum wanted me to join the military, i thought she had something wrong in her mind.

“here was the information they gave to me.” my mum said. and she said they were chinese, and told her the benefit in the navy. i should be considered this decision.

“what was navy? and what should i do?

To Be Continued……….

http://veteranfamily.blogspot.com/2013/03/before-graduation.html

Pick up your Style Today in I’s Colour Fashion Store! 

IMG_1077_BlackIMG_1067_Neon Pink

About jacksonyu00

Welcome to my blog. My name is Jackson, and I have been served in US Navy for 5 years. Since so many veterans don't know their benefits too much, I will do my best to update the latest news from Veteran Affairs, and other departments. Also, I will use my experiences to write some opinions about different VA benefit. Please leave a comment if you have any questions. Thanks for your service, and please keep in touch.
This entry was posted in before and after and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment